Press Release: 2010 Student Laureates

The Lincoln Academy of Illinois
Old State Capitol * Springfield, IL 62701 * (217) 785-5030 * FAX (217) 523-9792
October 27, 2010 Julie Kellner
(217) 785-5030
Student Laureates honored by Lincoln Academy November 6
Ceremony at Old State Capitol recognized the top student from each college and university in Illinois

SPRINGFIELD – The Lincoln Academy of Illinois honored outstanding senior college students and one student from among all of the community college students in Illinois during the annual Student Laureate Convocation at 11 a.m. Saturday, November 6 the Old State Capitol State Historic Site in Springfield.

The Lincoln Academy’s Student Laureate Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the four-year, degree granting colleges and universities in Illinois. At the Student Laureate Convocation, each received a Student Laureate Medallion, along with an honorarium check and certificate of achievement. This event marks the 36th year that students have been honored by the Academy.

These students have exhibited a personal commitment to excel as seen by their remarkable academic accomplishments,

said Thomas S. Johnson, Chancellor of the Lincoln Academy, who added,

They serve as role models to other Illinois students. With hardworking and dedicated young leaders such as these, Illinois and the rest of the nation can look forward to a bright future.

Student Laureate M. Elizabeth Judson of Eureka College spoke on behalf of all the Laureates. The invocation was delivered by Dr. Roger Taylor, President of Knox College, and the benediction was given by Lincoln Academy Regent Rev. Stanley L. Davis, Jr. The Sangamon Woodwind Consort provided music, and a luncheon at the Illinois Executive Mansion followed the Student Laureate

The Lincoln Academy, unique among the 50 states, was established 46 years ago to honor Illinois’ most distinguished citizens with the state’s highest award, the Order of Lincoln. The 47th Annual Convocation and Investiture of Laureates of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois took place Saturday, April 16, 2011 at the Krannert Center for the Performing Arts at the University of Illinois in Urbana. The convocation planning co-chairs were Judy Ikenberry, Cheryl Easter and Virginia Hogan.

School, Student, Home Town
Augustana College, Benjamin Zimmerman, Mokena, IL
Aurora University, Shammrie Brown, Kentwood, MI
Benedictine University, Adnan Mujagic, Naperville, IL
Blackburn College, Evan Jackson, Carlinville, IL
Bradley University, Nicholas Fahnders, Pekin, IL
Chicago State University, Amber Pierre, Country Club Hills, IL
Concordia University, Janine Bolling, Queens, NY
DePaul University, Ashlee Pinto, Orland Park, IL
Dominican University, Kelsy Holloway, Cape Girardeau, MO
Eastern Illinois University, Justin Gross, Elmhurst, IL
Elmhurst College, Amy Du, Elmhurst, IL
Eureka College, M. Elizabeth Judson, Galesburg, IL
Governors State University, Tamara Lewis, Chicago, IL
Greenville College, Kayli Catron, Decatur, IL
Illinois College, Megan Kruse, Petersburg, IL
IL Institute of Technology, Angela Ng, Rockford, IL
Illinois State University, Jessica Wozniak, Carol Stream, IL
Illinois Wesleyan University, Kari Grace, Winnetka, IL
Judson University, Kevin Lipp, Downers Grove, IL
Knox College, Anita Ahuja, Rock Island, IL
Lake Forest College, Linda Winkelman, Park City, UT
Lewis University, Summer Hallaj, St. Charles, IL
Lincoln College, Alexandra Williams, Lincoln, IL
Loyola University, Stephanie Romeo
MacMurray College, Kelli Ruppel, Chandlerville, IL
McKendree College, Danielle Belobraydich, Plainfield, IL
Millikin University, Kelsey Lee, Virginia, IL
Monmouth College, Derek Huff, Edmonds, WA
North Central College, Steven Oliveri, Crystal Lake, IL
North Park University, Danielle Paventi, Syracuse, NY
Northeastern Illinois University, Lakeesha Harris
Northern Illinois University, Kathryn Green, Geneva, IL
Northwestern University, Trisha Faulkner, Springfield, IL
Olivet Nazarene University, Evan Karg, Freeport, IL
Principia College, Blake Hansen, Beaverton, OR
Quincy University, Tanner Wright, New York, NY
Rock Valley Community College, Stacey Slintak, Rockford, IL
Rockford College, Heather Goodrich, Tinley Park, IL
Roosevelt University, Emma Carroll, Chicago, IL
St. Xavier University, Aarika Zarnick, Freeport, IL
Southern IL U. – Carbondale, Jordan Kabat, Scheller, IL
Southern IL U. – Edwardsville, Nathaniel Dell, Maryville, IL
Trinity Christian University, Joseph Wydra, Tinley Park, IL
Trinity International University, Samantha Knopp, Medford, WI
University of Chicago, Ingrid Busching, Rochelle, IL
Univ. of IL – Chicago, Joshua Kannankeril, Tinley Park, IL
Univ. of IL – Springfield, Kimberly Bartosiak, Bethalto, IL
U of I - Urbana/Champaign, Kristy Treven, Libertyville, IL
Univ. of St. Francis, Mark Ahern, Homewood, IL
Western Illinois University, Edward Bridge II, Quincy, IL